Reviewing The Current Requirements For Auto Coverage
In New Jersey, all auto owners are required to fulfill the standard requirements for auto insurance. Under federal laws, if they don’t acquire adequate insurance, they will incur a criminal and administrative penalty for this traffic violation. The following are details about the current requirements for Automobile Liability in Vineland NJ.
What are the Standard Auto Liability Requirements?
Currently, all auto owners must have at least $5,000 for property damage liabilities. They must have at least $15,000 worth of coverage for the initial injuries that occur in the accident. If the victims sustain serious injuries, the coverage must extend to a maximum of $250,000.
What are the Requirements for Personal Injury Protection for New Jersey?
Personal injury protection is required in addition to the standard liability policy. These values start with a minimum of $15,000 per injury with a maximum of $30,000. The policy must provide $5,000 for any property damage. It must provide a minimum of $15,000 for under or uninsured motorists with a maximum of $30,000. It must provide $5,000 for the property of any owner who isn’t insured but isn’t at fault. It must provide the auto owner with at least $15,000 for individual injuries with a maximum of $250,000 for any permanent injuries or disabilities.
What Happens if the Auto Owner Doesn’t Have Coverage?
If the auto owner doesn’t comply with these laws, the state can impose serious fines. They can impound the vehicle based on the duration of the driver’s license suspension. If the driver causes an accident, the driver could face a jail sentence.
What Happens After a Serious Auto Accident?
If an injury occurs that requires medical treatment beyond the maximum coverage level, the victim can file a lawsuit. Under these laws, the victim’s family could also collect compensation through a wrongful death lawsuit as well.
In New Jersey, all auto owners are required to comply with current auto insurance laws. If they fail to obey these laws, the state or county can apply criminal and administrative penalties. These penalties could equate to driver’s license suspensions, impoundment of the vehicle, and fines. Drivers who want to acquire coverage can contact a local insurance such as M & C Insurance Agency, Inc. provider now.